Library Guides: Horticulture: Journals & Databases

What is a database?

Databases allow you to access academic journal articles as well as conference papers, reports and other scholarly information.

They can be subject specific (i.e. a business database) or multisubject.

Sometimes only a summary (abstract) of a journal article will be available but you will often have full access to the article.

created by Yavapai College Library, Arizona.

Subtitles/Closed Captions - press (c) or click on the icon when in full screen.

Key Databases

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Health sciences. Includes PubMed Clinical Queries search tool.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains fulltext of the periodical ' Horticulture' from 1990 - present.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains the peer reviewed Journal ' Horticulture Research' , providing access to issues since 2014

Multisubject databases

AAAS Science Online Science Classic SAGE Journals - NEW - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
This online service provides full-text PDF access to all issues of the journal Science published between the first issue in JULY, 1880 and the present.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Business, management, tourism and multisubject
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Education, social sciences, health sciences and multisubject
Cambridge University Press Journals - NEW - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core Journals provides full-text access to 420 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Multisubject. Open access scholarly journals. Available on and off campus
Intertek Inform - National Standards Authority of Ireland This link opens in a new window
NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) is Ireland’s official standards body.
Please note that when you log in for the first time, you will have to create an account with Intertek Inform.This resource used to be called i2i from SAI Global.
Irish Newspaper Archive - New - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
6 million pages of newspaper content from titles North and South of the Irish border and through the newspaper obituaries Irish genealogists can search, retrieve and view births, deaths and marriage records from over 279 years of Irish publications.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Multisubject
Oxford University Press Journals - NEW - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
Full collection – Over 500 journals.
Logn via our A-z databases page here https://library.wit.ie/databases/
Regional Business News - NEW This link opens in a new window
Coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
SAGE Journals - NEW - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals provides access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals across the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and more.
Sage Research Methods - NEW - NTUTORR ( off campus access via link on Library databases page) This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students from all disciplines with their research projects
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Over 90 million records.
Social Science Premium Collection - Proquest - NEW - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Premium Collection offers indexing and full-text coverage of a collection of academic journals, across a range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Taylor & Francis - NEW NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
Medical Collection, Social Sciences and Humanities Collection
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Humanities, science and social sciences
Wiley Online Library - NTUTORR This link opens in a new window
New* - Extra Content via IREL - Multisubject, health sciences, education, law, humanities

What is an academic journal?

Academic journals are scholarly magazines that contain articles relating to a particular academic discipline.

Researchers and experts in the field review the journal article before it is published in what is known as the "peer review process".

This ensures that journal articles are high quality sources of academic information.

Search MultiSearch

Search across the majority of the library databases together - Find journal articles, books, ebooks & more in one search

MultiSearch Video

Subtitles/Closed Captions - press (c) or click on the icon when in full screen.

Google Scholar - Library Links

Google Scholar for Research Guide

Use Settings - Library Links to link to resources in SETU Libraries Waterford Collection
Select South East Technological University (Waterford) - SETU Waterford Collection

Off campus access

Access the databases off campus as you would on campus with your student username and password through the Databases page on the library website.
For a small number of databases you will need to use the ‘Off Campus Access’ link as listed on the Databases page.