Access the databases off campus as you would on campus with your student username and password through the Databases page on the library website.
Scholarly sources include academic journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers and theses.
Academic journal articles are scholarly magazines that contain articles relating to a particular academic discipline.
Researchers and experts in the field review the journal article before it is published in what is known as the "peer review process".
This ensures that journal articles are high quality sources of academic information.
Scholarly sources can be found by searching the library databases.
created by University of South Australia. Licence: CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/...)
Databases allow you to access academic journal articles as well as conference papers, reports and other scholarly information.
They can be subject specific (i.e. a business database) or multisubject.
Sometimes only a summary (abstract) of a journal article will be available but you will often have full access to the article.
Using databases will help you to find quality information for your assignments and is better than simply searching the web.
created by Yavapai College Library.
Always access subscribed library databases from the library databases page. When you click on the link you will be asked for your login details (setu network/moodle login).
Some journal articles will be available in full and others will be abstract only. Abstract only is when when you see a summary of the journal article but do not have access to the full text.
If you search a database and only want to see a list of articles where you have access the full text, then you can choose the option Full Text or Show only content I have access to from the menu.
When you search a database and see a Full Text Finder link it means that you need to link out to another location to access the full text of the article. This may link to another library database or an website where the article is available through Open Access.
Interlibrary Loan
If you are unable to access the full text via the subscribed databases or thought Open Access, contact the library for an interlibrary loan.
If you have any issues logging in or accessing library resources on or off campus, contact the library: libinfo.wd@setu.ie.
Google Scholar can be a useful starting point when searching for academic or scholarly literature.
To ensure you are researching your topic comprehensively you can search Google Scholar in addition to searching the relevant library databases.
Email Us
SETU Waterford Libraries are operating library services on campus and our dedicated staff are committed to supporting you with your academic studies. If you have a question please contact us via email at libinfo.wd@setu.ie or for more detailed queries contact Library Learning Support at LLS.WD@setu.ie and we will get back to you as soon as possible.
One to One Help
One to ones aim to give personalized, in-depth library support for undergraduate students, postgraduate students and staff. So whether you are starting out in the first year of your course or looking for a refresher on library databases we are here to help you. Request one to one library help.