Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Management Tools: Intro to Citation Managers

Content created by University of Manitoba Libraries. Reused and adapted here with their kind permission.


WIT Libraries provide support for EndNote X7 and EndNote Basic. However, there are many more products and tools that are available for free or purchase. 
While we don't offer any support for these tools, they may be useful to you.

What are Citation or Reference Managers?


Citation management software, also known as reference management software or citation managers, can help you manage and organize your citations and format bibliographies.

Many different citation management tools are available - some are available for free while others are not.

Examples include EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero. All citation managers carry out the same basic functions but specific features may vary from program to program.

Most citation management tools can help you to:

  • Import citation information from databases and library catalogs
  • Collect, organize, and annotate citations
  • Manage PDF articles
  • Generate bibliographies and format footnotes or endnotes in a variety of styles

Comparison Chart


This is not a list of all citation management solutions. Please see the Other Comparison Charts below to view more.

Tool/Criteria EndNote 20 EndNote Basic

Mendeley

Zotero
Cost EndNote 20 is available to all students and staff of WIT.  If you have a WIT PC/laptop EndNote should already be installed on it. If not please contact Computer Services, computerservices@wit.ie. If you wish to have EndNote software installed on a personal PC/laptop please contact Geraldine Molloy (gmolloy@wit.ie) Free basic account Free basic account (fee to upgrade) Free basic account
(fee to upgrade)
Storage Unlimited references and file attachment storage.

Sync EndNote 20 account with EndNote online for unlimited storage online also

50,000 in reference storage and 2GB file attachment storage

 

Free account = 2 GB of Web  storage

Upgrade Plans starting at €4.99 per month - see https://www.mendeley.com/upgrade/storage/

Free account = 300 MB of Web storage

Upgrade Plans available to view: https://www.zotero.org/support/storage

Free option if setting up with free cloud computing services.
Mobile Apps for iPad, iPhone, Android, smart phones Yes, iPad App that allows PDF annotation.

Sync with EndNote online to access EndNote via web browser.
Yes, sync library with iPad App Yes, official iPad/iPhone and Android;  3rd party Android apps also available Yes, created by 3rd  parties. See https://www.zotero.org/support/mobile for info
Citation/bibliography - Compatibility with word processing program Yes – for MS Word, OpenOffice (Windows), Apple Pages;  LaTex through BibTeX Yes – for MS Word, OpenOffice (Windows), Apple Pages;  LaTex through BibTeX Yes – for MS Word, LibreOffice; LaTex through BibTeX Yes – for MS Word, OpenOffice; LaTex through BibTeX
Types of items that can be saved/ attached Book/article citations, PDFs, webpages (URLs only) Book/article citations, PDFs, webpages (URLs only) Book/article citations, PDFs, webpages (URLs + snapshots), video, images Book/article citations, PDFs, webpages (URLs + snapshots), video, images
Tools to help capture online items Capture button available to download with synced online account Yes, download the Capture button Yes, download the Web Importer bookmarklet Yes, with Chrome, Safari, Firefox extensions – icons shown in browser bar
Accessible from more than one computer Yes, EndNote can now sync across EndNote online and all computers where you have installed EndNote desktop 20. Yes, access EndNote Basic from any computer with an internet connection Yes – Web-based and can download Mendeley Desktop on multiple computers Yes – Web-based and can download Zotero Standalone on multiple computer
Share your library with others

Yes,    can    share   your library with up to 100 other EndNote  users.

Share citation groups with other EndNote users.

Share tailored bibliographies with with others.
Yes Yes
Pros

Reliable software to use for a large library of files

Many research databases offer Export options specifically for EndNote.  

Good technical online support              

User-friendly

Good if you're new to research and writing

Many research databases offer Export options specifically for EndNote.

User-­friendly.

Free searchable online library of papers & citations.

Good tools for adding annotations  to PDFs.

Can auto-detect item types to save in Firefox or Standalone.

Unlimited # of private or public groups.
   

Cons

Not able to save webpage snapshots.
   

Not able to save webpage snapshots.
   

Only 1 private group (3 members) w/free acct.

Still mainly popular in scientific communities.

Very limited storage space w/free account.

Other Comparison Charts