PowerPoint presentations/seminars - Harvard Referencing - SETU Libraries Waterford Guide - Library Guides at Waterford Institute of Technology

PowerPoint presentations/ seminars

Element.	Example, including punctuation
Author/speaker	Bloggs, J.
Year (in round brackets)	(2016)
Title of communication (in italics )	Research Skills
[Medium]	[PowerPoint presentation to BBS Year 4]
module code:module title (in italics)(if known)	WD096: Communication skills,
Institution	Waterford Institute of Technology.
Day/month	3 May.

Reference List

Bloggs, J.(2016) Research Skills [PowerPoint presentation to BBS Year 4] WD096: Communication skills,Waterford Institute of Technology. 3 May.

NOTE: If the powerpoint presentation is prepared by your Lecturer as part of your course. PIease check with your Lecturer as to whether or not they require you to reference course materials in your assignments.

Limited Library Services due to cyber incident

We would like to inform all library users that due to a cyber incident, some library services are currently unavailable. 15/11/2024

Unfortunately, you cannot now:

Access many of our subscription databases
Use the desktop PCs in the library
Access the WiFi or campus network (tether to your own hotspot for now).
Borrow laptops from the self-service cabinet in the Luke Wadding Library. [Under review]

However, you can still;

Borrow and Return Books
Search the library catalogue
Access cloud-based services including Moodle, Email, Sharepoint, OneDrive, and Office 365.

To access the Internet, we recommend that you tether to your own devices for now.

Thank you for your patience and understanding while we work to resolve the issues.

Open Access Databases are labelled with OA and highlighted in green. These can still be accessed. See our databases page for a full listing. Link: Databases in Waterford - SETU Libraries

Suggested Resources for Database Search

OpenAlex is a free, open-source index of scholarly research that offers an extensive collection of academic materials, including research articles, books, conference papers, and datasets. It’s an accessible alternative for students who may have trouble accessing subscription-based search tools like EBSCO Discovery Service.

Key Features of OpenAlex:

Extensive Coverage: As of October 2024, OpenAlex includes metadata for over 240 million scholarly works, encompassing a wide range of disciplines and research outputs.
Interconnected Entities: The platform organises information into five entities—works, authors, venues, institutions, and concepts—that are interconnected, enabling a comprehensive understanding of the research landscape.
Open Access Integration: OpenAlex integrates with Unpaywall, providing information on the open access status of publications, which helps users find free versions of research articles.

Advantages of Using OpenAlex:

Free and Open Access: Unlike subscription-based databases, OpenAlex is completely free to use, removing financial barriers to accessing scholarly information.
Comprehensive Data: The platform aggregates data from multiple sources, including Crossref, ORCID, and institutional repositories, offering a broad and inclusive view of global research.
User-Friendly API: OpenAlex provides an open API that allows users to retrieve and analyze data directly, facilitating custom queries and integration into various applications.
Regular Updates: The database is updated regularly, ensuring that users have access to the most current research information available.

OpenAlex serves as a valuable tool for exploring academic literature, understanding research trends, and accessing a wealth of scholarly information without the need for institutional logins or subscriptions.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a comprehensive, community-curated index of open access scholarly journals. It serves as a valuable resource for students and researchers seeking freely accessible academic content across various disciplines.

Key Features of DOAJ:

Extensive Coverage: As of November 2024, DOAJ indexes over 21,000 open access journals from 136 countries, representing 80 languages and covering a wide range of subjects.
Quality Assurance: Journals included in DOAJ undergo a rigorous evaluation process to ensure they adhere to high standards of quality and transparency in scholarly publishing.
User-Friendly Access: DOAJ provides an intuitive platform where users can search for journals and articles by keywords, subject, or language, facilitating easy discovery of relevant academic content.

Advantages of Using DOAJ:

Free Access: All journals and articles indexed in DOAJ are freely accessible without subscription fees, making scholarly research available to a global audience.
Diverse Content: DOAJ’s extensive index includes journals from underrepresented regions and disciplines, offering a broad perspective on global research.
Transparency and Best Practices: By adhering to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing, DOAJ promotes ethical standards and integrity in academic publishing.

For students who may encounter access issues with subscription-based databases, DOAJ offers a reliable and comprehensive alternative for discovering high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals and articles.

Email Us
SETU Waterford Libraries are operating library services on campus and our dedicated staff are committed to supporting you with your academic studies. If you have a question please contact us via email at libinfo.wd@setu.ie or for more detailed queries contact Library Learning Support at LLS.WD@setu.ie and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

One to One Help

One to ones aim to give personalized, in-depth library support for undergraduate students, postgraduate students and staff. So whether you are starting out in the first year of your course or looking for a refresher on library databases we are here to help you. Request one to one library help.