Skip to Main Content

Harvard Referencing - SETU Libraries Waterford Guide: Reference Books (Encyclopaedias, bibliographies, dictionaries)

Harvard Referencing - SETU Libraries Waterford Guide

Reference Books - Encyclopaedias, bibliographies, dictionaries

Element: Example, including punctuation
Editor(s) of the encyclopaedia Griffiths, P.
Year of publication (1986)
Title of the encyclopaedia (italics) The Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of 20th-Century music.
Edition (if not the first edition)
City of publication: London:
Publisher Thames and Hudson.

Many reference materials do not have an obvious author/editor, these are usually cited by their title e.g.(Collins pocket French dictionary, 2001, p140)

Reference List

Griffiths, P. (1986) The Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of 20th-Century music.London:Thames and Hudson.

Limited Library Services due to cyber incident

We would like to inform all library users that due to a cyber incident, some library services are currently unavailable. 03/12/2024

Unfortunately, you cannot at present:

  • Use the desktop PCs in the library
  • Access the WiFi or campus network (tether to your own hotspot for now).
  • Borrow laptops from the self-service cabinet in the Luke Wadding Library. [Under review]

However, you can:

  • Borrow and Return Books
  • Access the SETU Waterford library subscribed databases.   Due to ongoing restrictions on the SETU network, you can only access the databases remotely—off-campus, from home, or via a personal hotspot. To access the databases, visit the SETU Waterford Library Databases page and log in with your usual credentials when prompted.
  • Search the library catalogue
  • Access cloud-based services including Moodle, Email, Sharepoint, OneDrive, and Office 365.

Thank you for your patience and understanding while we work to resolve the issues.

Email Us
SETU Waterford Libraries are operating library services on campus and our dedicated staff are committed to supporting you with your academic studies. If you have a question please contact us via email at libinfo.wd@setu.ie or for more detailed queries contact Library Learning Support at LLS.WD@setu.ie and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

 

One to one library help logo - linked to sign up page

One to One Help

One to ones aim to give personalized, in-depth library support for undergraduate students, postgraduate students and staff. So whether you are starting out in the first year of your course or looking for a refresher on library databases we are here to help you. Request one to one library help.